Lemon Blooms

At the meeting of the Yorkshire Spoolettes last month a number of us bought similar or the same fabrics (great taste ladies). One I bought from Fabworks Mill Shop was this Lemon Blooms ponte double jersey Ā£6 pm bargain!!

Ruth made it into a dress, fabby Ruth but I wanted to try the short sleeve Linden option B.

  
What a versatile fabric. The Linden is so easy to make and with the short sleeves it’s a breeze. I imagine this with a pair of denim shorts . Cuffs and hems are just turned and twin needled.

I bought 2m of this fabric and at the same time I cut this out I squeezed on a Bethioua Raglan. Seriously you need to google or IG this top. The sleeves are large and darted at the shoulder then go across the top of the shoulder to form the top of the back. In a stripe fabric this means the back meets with a chevron shape.

  
I have quite wide shoulders so until I get more practice raglan is good. This fabric doesn’t show off the pattern well but you can see the dart on the shoulder in the left bottom picture and the back where the sleeves meet on the top left. There is a choice of two cuff options fitted and loose fit. I chose fitted. My Fitbit is just behind the cuff but comfy as I tried this on yesterday and didn’t take it off. Also two choices of hem. Straight at the front and curved at the back or straight all around and a hem band piece. As I am wearing this with my Ooh La Leggings I went for bum covering curved hem. 

Two very easy and quick makes and both I will make again. I also bought some Waikiki blooms and yes it’s loud but lovely don’t you think for the short Linden for holidays?

Looking forward to seeing the makes of the other Yorkshire Spoolettes.

Happy Sewing K xXx

5 thoughts on “Lemon Blooms

  1. The raglan top is my favourite, even though you cant see the interesting seams, it’s a really good shape on you. Are you going to have a go at making it in a striped fabric then? Definitely go for the Linden Wakiki!

    Like

Leave a Reply

